Evidence of the increasing maturity of Seattle’s health innovation community was on full display at the Annual Health Innovation NW Awards Night held at the Cambia Grove on December 14, 2017. This was the third year of the annual health innovation awards program. This  program is designed to celebrate the heroes among us who exemplify exceptional performance in traits necessary for successful innovation: Imagination, Customer-centered, Collaboration, and Perseverance. Separate awards were made ito individuals Startups, Institutions, and Community Non-Profit sectors. Over 100 people came out to celebrate the accomplishments of 2017 and to prepare for another great year.


The awardees in the Imagination category:

Institutional sector:  Tonya Palermo, PhD, from Seattle Children’s Research Institute

Community Non-profit sector: Suzanne Gwynn, Ladybug House

Startup sector: Mike Van Snellenberg, Wellpepper


The awardees in the Customer-centered category:

Institutional sector: Vince Barrailler, Washington Health Benefit Exchange

Startup Sector:  Cassie Wallender


Awardees in the Collaboration category:

Institutional sector: Michael McClain, MD, First Hill Surgery Center

Public Health sector: Hanna Oltean

Startup sector: Avadhut Joshi, Translational Software


Awardees in the perseverance category:

Institutional sector: Tony Blau MD, UW Principal Investigator ITOMIC trial and All4Cure

Community Non-profit sector:  Dellann Elliott Mydland, The EndBrainCancer Initiative

Startup Sector: Chris Wood, Clario Medical Imaging


2017 Seattle Health Innovators President’s Awards

This year in addition to the annual Health Innovator of the Year awards for exemplary traits shown above, the Board also designated four President’s Awards for innovation in four areas of great interest in the coming year:

Regulatory Science Innovation









Shawn Swanson, MedsForAll

Pain Management Innovation

Zachary Fisk MD, Anesthesiologist








Patient-Centered Care Innovation

Tony Quang, MD, JD  Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology, UW, VA


Regulatory Science Innovation

Dema Poppa, Invio

For more information about these awardees and the 2017 Health Innovator of the Year Awards Program please see the agenda from the event:  Health Innovator Awards 2017 presentation 20171214 2000 pdf

Health Innovation NW

Health Innovation NW is a Washington State non-profit corporation dedicated to building a supportive community of individuals interested in transforming health and healthcare. We grew from the Seattle Health Innovation Forum meetup group, founded in 2013, that has over 1,700 members.

Secured By miniOrange